Combining Chapters

I took the weekend and yesterday off from writing. It felt good to take a little break.  I said in my last post that I had a chapter and a half left to write to finish the first act, but as I sat down to write today (got about a page done) I hit a wall. I started to write what felt like fluff. I let this go on for about two paragraphs. Have I ever written longer passages that were “fluffy” before? Of course, I just didn’t realize that that’s what they were while I was writing. This was different. I knew I had reached the end of a scene but I wanted to extend it because if I didn’t, I wouldn’t be able to have a long enough sixth chapter.

This became a problem very quickly, which led me to my next thought: I guess chapter six and seven belong fused together. It certainly seems that way. I don’t have a big problem with this. I just wasn’t expecting it.  The important thing for me is to make sure I’m writing the story as it wants to be written. It was like someone hit an off switch as soon as I tried to force more out of the scene. And then I found myself in a dead end. Now what? I thought, now I have to start making stuff up. That’s not going to work…as strange as that sounds, that’s how it felt.

Anywhoo, I’ve decided to combine those two chapters but I might surprise myself. An aspect to chapter seven may come out in chapter six and that could still leave me with a needed seventh chapter, or it could not. We’ll see.

Leave a Reply

