9,100 words

Going strong over here still with this short’s preliminary draft. I’m at page 17 or word count approx. 9,100 words (maybe 70% done), which is how I will have to label it whenever I approach someone within the publishing industry. Word count is really the first and most definitive way that stories are labeled.  There are short stories, novelettes, novellas, and novels. According to this guideline my story is currently a novelette, which sounds funny to me. I feel like I’d rather a story end up a short or a novella, but I have no real basis for feeling this way. I think the term novelette is used less frequently/I couldn’t name one for you. Novella: the Green Mile. It really doesn’t matter though because magazines have their own guidelines. I know SF&F magazine publishes stories up to 25,000 words in length. I also know that story collections can have varying length.

I had found a word count page on the Nebula or Hugo award page I forget which, but I think wikipedia will do just fine:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Word_count

2 responses to “9,100 words

  1. I am finally, finally caught up here. Thank God. Now I can read day to day, like a regular person.

    Don’t be afraid to use text to put links. You can then leave out the long “http://www.whatever.com” and just make the words “Click here” a link. I can show you how, if you’d like.

    Anyways, I am excited about this!!! I can’t wait to read something. And, best of all, we can now talk about it in real life 🙂

  2. Thank you Jennie! You know, I’ve done text links for other (work) blogs now that I think about it, but it never crossed my mind to do it here…my blog wouldn’t know about that or blogrolling if it weren’t for you : )

    Why talk in real life when we have blogs? ; )

Leave a Reply

