Mission Accomplished, Plus it’s Scary Movie Time!

I made time over the weekend to sit down and work on my pilot outline and my Dexter spec. I finished a tentative outline for the pilot and I revised most of my spec successfully. With my Dexter spec, I ran into a snag towards the end when it came time to revise the biggest issue. The biggest issue revolves around what previous feedback has told me is a ‘character plot hole.’ Basically, Dexter wouldn’t put himself into this situation with the knowledge that I had given him. So, I came up with a solution but it requires the revision of a few scenes and the smoothing out of a new take on how I get to the climax of the episode. I would say, I edited all the small fixes of the spec and then got about halfway through fixing the plot issue before I ran out of steam and needed to put it down. I’d like to sit down this week and finish editing and then give it a read through by the weekend. Hopefully at that point I can pass it around for a second round of feedback.

On another note, it’s October, which I love. I’m not big on gory slasher-flicks, but I have a soft spot for thrillers and smartly done horror films. Here are some of my favorite scary movies (and there are plenty that I have yet to experience!):

The Wicker Man: disturbing, slowly built tension, creepy, creepy creepy=classic.

Alien: great atmosphere, great score, great thrills, one of my favorites.

Saw: I actually “saw” this for the first time last Spring, so six years after it came out and countless sequels had already followed it. I had zero expectations and ended up pleasantly surprised. I don’t know what it says about me, but I found the climax of the movie where we finally see the title of the film put to use, extremely horrifically satisfying, and despite some slow moments, plot holes, and unfinished storylines, I liked the twist ending as well and walked away thoroughly entertained.

The Silence of the Lambs: One of my favorite movies on any list and I know it is a thriller, not a horror film. But, who cares, it can be  on my list.  Book is great too. Also, strong female heroine, whoo! And one of my favorite book into film sequences is carried out during the climax of this film: when the FBI closes in on Buffalo Bill’s house and rings the door bell, the inter-cut scenes between the FBI and Clarice, you know what I’m saying, is so good. In the book, separate chapters cut these two sequences apart, but the film does a superb job of lacing them together for dramatic effect on screen.

Jaws: also a general favorite. Sometimes when your big mechanical shark won’t work under water it leads to creativity with underwater pov shots, heavy use of a great score, and ultimately, a better film. If this film was made today and that shark was CGI’ed, I think I’d cry…

The Shining: Ok, I know Stephen King, who wrote one of my favorite books of all time (Misery), does not like this classic film version of his book. Well, all I can say is I have seen the other version and I remember being a little unimpressed. I love this one, scary, thrilling, tons of tension, good stuff.

Halloween: at this point, Halloween doesn’t scare me like it did when I was a kid, but it does give me a warm and fuzzy feeling when I catch it on TV just before Halloween. Last year I remember gluing feathers to my wings for the impending holiday and watching Halloween on AMC. It was one of my favorite days during the Fall season.

Jurassic Park: this one doesn’t really belong here, does it? It’s such a good movie, it also is the best example I can think of of how you should use CGI. Plus, there’s the real mechanical dinosaurs, and it has many, many thrilling moments. I’d watch this during the Fall season.

The Thing: One of the best horror films ever. I love scary films that can take place predominantly in one location and retain an astounding amount of  horror and suspense, which is part of why I wrote a thriller/horror film that takes place on a farm (I’ve left it alone for now), anywhoo, I read this script before I saw the film and I have to say, I loved the story so much, I was kind of taken aback when I saw the 1980s in-camera monster animation (a little gross for me) but the story is so good, I can deal. *the couch scene is a favorite.

-Also, it’s been a while since I’ve seen Scream, which helped pave the way for modern horror teen flicks and horror comedies.  I also don’t think I’ve seen the first Nightmare on Elm Street or Friday the 13th. Perhaps I can work on that this Halloween season.

Leave a Reply

