A Little of This, a Little of That

Writing is coming along. Writing in the mornings has always been best for me so I’m trying to wake up earlier and make time for it pretty much every day. I’m always happiest when I can do that. Speaking of which, I wrote a first draft of a short story today, just a short, short, about 1,000 words. Fiction. Felt good to work the writing muscle. Also, I am acutely aware of the fact that I want to finish my Dexter spec revision and move forward on my pilot.

After my post on H.P. Lovecraft, another friend of mine recommended author Dan Simmons, specifically stories “Summer of Night,” “Terror,” and “Carrion Comfort.” I will be checking those out.

I guess that’s all. Happy Thursday. Oh wait, here is a link to another blog that has some points on how to improve your writing. I always find it interesting to see what other writers have to say on the subject.

And you should check out Wordriot.org. Did I mention my friend Wendy has been published on their site? Click here.

3 responses to “A Little of This, a Little of That

  1. This comment is a little late, I guess.

    Can’t stop reading (and writing) Lovecraft!

    You can get his collected works in electronic format, free and legally, here:
    http://cthulhuchick.com/free-complete-lovecraft-ebook-nook-kindle/

    By now, you’ve probably read The Terror if you’re going to.

    SPOILERS?
    Page 1: We’re all absolutely going to die in the north pole.
    Page 2-800: See, I was right?

    I actually liked The Terror, despite making fun of it like that. I felt like it didn’t really even need the monster, though. It was scary enough just learning what scurvy does to people.

  2. Thanks so much for visiting my blog and liking this post. I actually didn’t get to the “The Terror” when I was reading Lovecraft, but next time I revisit his works, I certainly will. He has a wonderfully eerie style. And thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

