The Shorts Continue

Today was extremely busy. It started at 8 AM sharp with the cable guy installing internet and cable (something I haven’t had for a year) in my new apartment. Work’s been busy-we’re gearing up for Sundance 2011. Despite this, I managed to break out my writing for about an hour today. I played around with the format and did a little editing of the 1,200 word short I wrote recently and I started what will be another short of similar size.

I’ve had an idea for this short for a couple weeks, but I didn’t know what to do with the idea. It felt dark, it was missing direction, and when those two things collide, I end up writing for the sake of writing, instead of delving into a question or a feeling. Fortunately, a jarring, unexpected and small moment over the weekend changed all of that and gave my current short new life.

That’s all for today. Thanks for stopping by (to the few of you who do!) : )

Leave a Reply

