It’s been a little while since I wrote about writing: Chapter 5

I’ve been inspired to keep up with my movie reviews on here, but I’ve shied away from updating on my writing. I think that came from a desire to get certain projects sorted out before I continued blogging about them, but writing takes patience, and if I just did that all the time then I wouldn’t have much to blog about! What’s that saying? It’s the journey, not the destination.

That being said, today I felt the urge to write Chapter 5 of my YA novel, Working title: The Sorter’s Mistake. I previously had written up through a shaky chapter 6 but I scraped an original version of chapters 4-6 months ago. At that point, I focused on revising the first 3 chapters, which I am very happy with right now. Slowly, I wrote a version of chapter 4 that I can live with for the moment, pending some feedback, but for a while I just wasn’t sure how to handle chapters 5 and 6. Essentially, I wasn’t sure how to take my main character from the world she knows to the unknown. Those are pivotal chapters and as the story cements in my mind piece by piece, those events have had to change to accommodate that vision.  I’ve been thinking about chapter 5 now and then and finally this morning I was inspired to write it. I almost finished it and I’ve outlined the few remaining pages. Writing this story is a lot of fun for me and it’s nice to spend some time on it.

I also have been reading a lot of writing for friends, which is a good thing. I also sent out a two page short and received some valuable feedback on it. It’s nice to break out different projects. If I only wrote YA or sci fi or thrillers or fiction or non fiction, I would be bored. I know the umbrella of works that I like to focus on, but I’m not ready to commit to one and throw all the others out. I don’t think I’ll ever do that.

Even though I was inspired to write chapter 5 of The Sorter’s Mistake, I really need to write my pilot. If anyone is taken with my specs and I don’t have a pilot to match, well, I’ll be stuck. I have a chunk of work on the pilot already completed, but it’s time to hammer out the rest and polish it up. So, that needs to be my focus the rest of this month.

On another note, over the summer my friends at Fanboy Comics took Comic-Con by storm and if you type “Katniss Comic-Con” into google, the first thing you’ll see are wonderful photos of FBC’s managing editor Barbra Dillon as Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games. And if you don’t know what I’m talking about then you better run out to the bookstore or the local library and find out! Barbra, you look fabulous! See more photos by visiting the FBC facebook page.

Leave a Reply

