The Guard: A Film Review

The past two months have been quite hectic, but I have still been writing, reviewing, watching and creating–I just need to talk about it here! To start, here’s one of four new reviews that need to be posted on my blog, but they are already up on Fanboy Comics. I’m excited to also talk about my participation in the Producer’s Guild 48 Hour Film Competition, as well as put up updates on my current fiction and screenwriting projects. Oh, and how could I forget? I have an exciting update on my Castle spec’s success in the Austin Film Festival’s screenplay competition. Anywhoo, here is the start to my review of “The Guard:”

When I reviewed The Troll Hunter, I mistakenly identified it as the only foreign film I saw at Sundance 2011. I’m not sure how the very first film I saw that week slipped my mind, especially one so crude and darkly humorous, but it’s about time I reviewed it. Irish black comedy The Guard is an immersive character study with an underlying thriller plot line. Brendan Gleeson (In BrugesThe Harry Potter Series) stars as unorthodox Sergeant Gerry Boyle. His offensive, lazy, and naïve façade make him an unlikely protagonist, but Gleeson’s performance lends this film its best attributes. The supporting cast assists him with a mixture of quirky and straight-man performances, making The Guard a colorful film despite an average plot.

To read the full review, click here!

2 responses to “The Guard: A Film Review

  1. Hmm it seems like your blog ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog. I too am an aspiring blog writer but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any points for first-time blog writers? I’d really appreciate it.

  2. Thanks for reading! I’d say try to create a schedule for yourself and stick to it. I don’t necessary post on the same days each week here; however, I write movie reviews for two other sites on a bi-weekly basis, which helps me continue to create new content for my own personal blog. Good luck and keep writing!

Leave a Reply

